top of page

CHL first?


I get asked a lot about getting concealment license from people that have little to no firearms knowledge or experience. My response is usually that they should take a basic or introduction to pistol class before taking a concealment class. Unless that CHL course covers basic knowledge in it. Different states have different requirements. What to ask for? Does your class cover shooting skills and fundamentals? Does it cover safe handling, storage, and how to maintain your pistol? Will I go through shooting drills? Don't be afraid to ask. You don't go to a concealment course to learn how to shoot. Although many people do it anyway. They get by with watching videos and trying to train themselves. The NRA, gun clubs, and firearm training schools are designed for such tasks. Even though I am an instructor I love to put myself through classes to ensure I am giving my students the best training possible. You should want that for yourself too. I hear to many stories of accidental discharges. Usually do to no holster, in the pocket with other things. You are just asking for it. Concealment in my opinion should be a stage 3 learning process. (Stage 1 Basic, Stage 2 Intermediate, Stage 3 Concealment, Stage 4 Advanced.) There are schools out there that mesh 1, 2, and 4 together. It's usually a 3 day course though. If you can do it I would highly recommend it. Develop the right shooting skills, fundamentals, and safety habits. So go out there and find a school or instructor. Hope to see you at the range soon. #pewpewlife

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page